Event Flier

rsz_5achancemerrill-page-001

rsz_doc2-page-001

 

Creation Process:
I decided to build this event flier because it’s something that is unique. This is an event that hardly anyone knows about and it’s really fun to watch. My dad does mounted shooting competitions here and there. That is where I got the idea to do this. It was really difficult to get colors out of this image that was the biggest problem. The color scheme of my project is a complementary color scheme with a chest net red color and a version of green. These colors best fit the image and the color of the horse I tried to pull those colors out. The color names are chest nut red and light green. The audience I was trying to reach was those who are looking for some excitement in their life, people who want to try something different or come watch an even they have never seen before. I felt like the rider shooting the pistol with smoke would capture my audience well.
Critique process:
This was actually kind of painful I really liked the fonts that I had chosen, but then again I’m not building this flier for myself. I did a lot of changing. I had some awesome western style fonts originally that really fit the theme of my project well. I changed that. I changed a lot of colors so they matched the image in my project mostly the horse and the rider. I received awesome feedback from many class members, Chris Armstrong, Karen Lazko, Christine Settles and Natalie Sumsion. Thank you for the good feedback.

Color Scheme: Complementary, Chestnut red and a version of green
Title: Dust West-decorative, Body copy: Franklin Gothic Demi (san serif)

Leave a comment